CFDA 50th anniversary

Wednesday, 06 June 2012
The Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards last night celebrated the best of American design, as it marked its 50th anniversary since its launch. CFDA Chairwoman Diane Von Furstenberg presented Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, design duo behind The Row, with Womenswear Designer of the Year.

Other winners on the night included Billy Reid for Menswear Designer of the Year, Reed Krakoff for accessories and Phillip Lim, Joseph Altuzarra and Tabitha Simmons accept awards from event partner Swarovski.

Johnny Depp was voted fashion icon, and the lifetime achievement award went to Tommy Hilfiger The award for International Designer of the Year went to Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons.

Images: Anna Wintour, Ashley Olsen, Tabitha Simmons

Related News