CFDA announces 2014 Awards nominations

Wednesday, 12 March 2014

Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang and Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra have all been nominated as Womenswear Designer of the Year at this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards.

The annual awards, which will take place on June 2 in New York, will also see Thom Browne, Rag & Bone's Marcus Wainwright and David Neville and Public School's Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow battle it out for Menswear Designer of the Year.

While Wang picking up his second nomination the Accessories Designer of the Year category will be up against Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCullough for Proenza Schouler and Mary-Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen for The Row, both previous winners of the prestigious Womenswear Award.

The showcase will also honour Tom Ford, who will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, while Raf Simons will pick up the International Award.

Once again the awards are sponsored by Swarovski who will honour emerging designers in womenswear, menswear and accessories, with designers including Wes Gordon, Todd Synder, Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, and Marc Alary being nominated.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on June 2.

Related News