Proenza Schouler named womenswear designer of the year

Tuesday, 04 June 2013
Fashion duo Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez were honoured by the Council of Fashion Designers of America last night in New York with the Womenswear Designer of the Year 2013 Award for their Proenza Schouler label. Presented to them by actress Kerry Washington, the duo, who have picked up the award twice before in 2007 and 2011, told the audience: “We were not expecting that” as they beat off competition from Alexander Wang and Marc Jacobs.

Menswear Designer of the Year went to Thom Browne, while Proenza Schouler lost out to Phillip Lim who took home the Accessories Designer of the Year accolade for his 3.1 Phillip Lim label.

Oscar de Renta honoured at CFDA Awards

The biggest honour of the night was given to Oscar de La Renta, who was presented with the Founder’s Award in honour of Eleanor Lambert by Secretary Hilary Clinton. The former Secretary of State praised de la Renta for his “unique contribution to fashion” in her tribute to the designer.

There were also three Swarovski Awards recognising emerging talent, duo Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty of Suno were awarded the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, while Public School's Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, were presented the Swarovski Award for Menswear, and Pamela Love took home the Swarovski Award for Accessories Design.

There were also a number of honourees at this year’s America’s ‘fashion Oscars’, bridal and womenswear designer Vera Wang was presented with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, by her former mentor Ralph Lauren for her “consistent, creative influence on fashion”, while Riccardo Tisci of Givenchy was recognised with this year's International Award.

Colleen Atwood took home the Board of Directors’ Tribute, marking the first time a costume designer has been recognised by the CFDA, and Tim Blanks won the Media Award for excellence in journalism.

Image: Oscar de la Renta with Secretary Clinton

Related News